Knowing about many events, from adultery to country cooking to murder to political shenanigans to possum hunting to seasons, sunrises and sunsets, and to whiskey stills, I decided to write about some of the events that I remembered from childhood.

     Poetry took the beauty. Novels took much of the wickedness. A memoir took the facts.

    I try to capture the essence of the country with my writing: the scents of the hayfields and the swamps, the sounds of the birds, the feel of approaching rain, the painful beauty of a sunset or rainbow, and the thrill of night pursuits of possums.


     
                                                                   
         
Whitetails and Tall Tails
       
                                                                         
                   

Like the sharp report of a rifle somewhere off in the woods  you’re walking though, these stories will snap you to attention. Lindsley's stories ring with the clarity of an October morning in the piney woods of the deep south. Their language cuts to the bone of what needs to be said: "Just go back to sleep, will ya," grumbles one half of the Midnight in the Marriage dialogue. Once you dive into Lindsley's stories, you'll likely not sleep until long after midnight, when you'll put the book down with a sigh of regret that you've finished it.
                        Dana Wildsmith,  Educator, poet, author, Back to  Abnormal and  Jumping

A woman of the fields, of the earth, and of the red Georgia clay, Susan shares her enthusiasm for hunting and fishing, and guides us into the woods. As she leads us into the world of wild turkeys, foxes, elk, and deer she reminds us of our God-given dominion over the beasts of the field, and the respect we must have for them. Her southern dialect filters through the good red earth and oozes poignancy onto the written page.
                     Janet Sheppard Kelleher, author of  ​Big C, little ta-ta: Kicking Breast Cancer's Butt in 7 Humorous Stories, Amazon best seller.

A captivating collection of short stories is authored by an obviously experienced lover of the great outdoors! Good, enjoyable reading.
                  Okefenokee Joe, AKA Dick Flood, wildlife host, folk hero, songwriter, educator and Emmy Award winner.

           
                                               
                                 
                                                                                                                   
     
                                                                   
       
Emperor of the United American States
         
                                                                         
  This collection of short stories, which never stints in a harsh reality, is spicy, smart, and entertaining.
              Steve Berry, international and New York Times best selling author of the Cotton Malone series and four standalone novels. Into 40 languages and 51 countries.

An award-winning author, Susan keeps on hitting literary home runs. Her writing is like springtime and a chilling storm combined, with lightning striking in paragraphs and thunder in the distance ...tight pacing and seat-of-your-pants cliffhangers even within paragraphs.
              Peggy Mercer, Best selling Author and Georgia Author of the Year, 2011.

I was completely captivated with Susan's new collection of short stories. In the tradition of Flannery O'Connor, Lindsley's dark and sometimes unsettling stories had me hooked. With each twist and turn, I was entertained from the first page to the last.
              Dana Ridenour, retired FBI agent, novelist and author of Behind the Mask and Beyond the Cabin.

Susan's book is a brilliant collection of award wining, thought-provoking, mind-awakening short stories. Black humor ranging from believable to unimaginable grips the reader both emotionally and psychologically. A change of pace comes with "not politically correct" humor and tales that tug on the heart strings. The impression lingers of a present day "1984" blended with slices of Stephen King. The reader will be tempted to read the entire book at one sitting although superb enjoyment comes from savoring each story.
               John C. House, author of numerous books, including So Shall You Reap and Uncommon Bond as well as Trail of Deceit.
                                                     
         
                                                               
          Possum Cops Poachers and the Conterfeit Game Warden
            She influenced governors, legislators, game managers, game wardens, reporters, wildlife organizations and other hunters. READ her hunting adventures, how she went from anti-hunter to avid hunter, how she battled poachers, how she stood up for Game Management against the powerfully organized,  how she changed the deer bag limits, and the history of deer hunting in Georgia, from stump sitting along scrape lines to sitting in high towers over food plots. “Young folks don’t know what thrills they are missing,” she says of the new hunting techniques. 438 pp, indexed, over 100 photos.    
 
 
       
     
 
             
  Three brothers drive their wagons from the Georgia mountains in 1932 to seek a better life in misstate. They immediately become involved with the county's major distributor of bootleg whiskey, and set up housekeeping in a tenant house owned by the local country doctor.

When the second generation reaches adulthood, one aspires for power and enters politics. The only daughter of the brothers pursues the bootlegger's son.

The three families-migrants, doctor, and bootlegger- become entangled in a web of conspiracy, murder, bootlegging, social climbing, politics, and cattle rustling.

                (CLICK FOR EXCERPT)

       
                   
 
                                                                   
 
Sue’s life is told, from childhood to Hollywood, from high school teacher to award winning journalist, from early courtships to the death of her anticipated husband, 

Her story comes from her own words—her diary, her letters to Margaret Mitchell, her twice-weekly columns that reflected childhood and day to day life.

Sue Myrick’s diaries and her letters to her close friend Margaret Mitchell reveal a Sue that few people knew. Sue also recorded inside information about the cast and crew of GWTW and other Hollywood notables.
Illustrations include many photographs that Sue took on the sets of Gone With The Wind, and scores of Sue herself.
   
Susan Myrick wrote endlessly about "Gone With The Wind", her friend, Peggy Mitchell, the characters and their actors in the movie. This book is a collection of those articles with a special PLUS.

     In the 1930's, Susan Myrick was able to interview and write lengthy feature articles about survivors of the War Between the States. Three of those are included: One about a Confederate veteran who speaks of near starvation and getting injured. Another one is a family whose matriarch is a former slave and has members of the next four generations living with her. The third family is a group of sisters who lost both parents during the war and continued, against social policy, to run their 600-acre farm themselves, without the help of anyone else.
 
     
   
   
   
 
            Re-released!                   New Stories

Her childhood was populated with such personalities as Flannery O'Connor, Susan Myrick (of Gone With the Wind), Charles Herty (UGA's first football coach and developer of paper from pine trees), as well as 76 horses, rustlers, political leaders, and moonshiners.
     
Learn about life on Dovedale Plantation, read a Susan Myrick short story, learn why the  Myrick girls of middle Georgia loved Sherman, ride from Minnesota to Daytona Beach with the youngest girl, and discover how to make your Victrola play backwards.
   
   
   

 
    Yesterplace, a memoir, leads the reader into the realism, not the nostalgia, of the 1940s and 1950s, to Westover Plantation in middle Georgia, where three young sisters sometimes romped and other times worked like field hands, in a world populated with college professors, cattle rustlers, moonshiners, Southern authors, and typical Southern politicians.

This book dispels the myths about the period and shows the realities of the people, the times, the politics, and racial interactions.

From the voodoo woman to the whiskey stills, from Flannery O'Connor to the political leaders, from a horse mad with rabies to a hungry stallion called Oliver Twist, this book presents life in rural Georgia during and shortly after World War II.

The reader will journey from the harshness of farm deaths to rare formal plantation social events, from the challenges of gentling horses to the aching sadness of throw-away pets.

                (CLICK FOR EXCERPT)
 
In 1946, the Ku Klux Klan members would only turn away and smile when a white man took a black mistress. But any black man who looked at a white woman would be whipped. If he dared to touch a white woman, he faced lynching.
Buck Steele, black veteran of the Second World War, and Molly Everett, white farm girl, knew their affair was probably doomed from the start.

                                      (CLICK FOR EXCERPT)
 
   
     
                                   
                                                         
     
 
       
 
O Yesterplace and other poems is my first book not-for-hire. It came about as a result of my desire to get the word Yesterplace™ into wider use. Privately printed in 1999,my poetry book sold more than 500 of the 1,000 copies in less than 6 months.
                      (CLICK FOR EXCERPT)
       
 
   
Top Of Page
 

© Copyright 2006  Susan Lindsley,  all rights reserved
Last updated 10/21/174. Please report problems to the
Webmaster